The Paths of Yoga

The two main Paths of Yoga Sadhana are Abhayaas and Vairagya.

Abhyaas – Practice

To Consistently which continuity remain on the positive path or direction is Abhyaas; to still the mind or consciousness, to still the thoughts, intellect and feelings etc, while keeping the mind free from distraction and continuing with the discipline of yoga is Abhyaas.

Vairagya – Detachment

To keep rejecting the negative path or point is Vairagya, of which there are two kinds.

Apara Vairagya 

To Let go all needs, to let go of attachment, to come into a desireless state is Apara Vairagya. The state of Apara Vairagya is what allows one to become a Siddha ( The Perfect being ) in Sampragyaat Samadhi.

Para Vairagya 

This is the Highest and purest form of detachment. To be detached from mental matters, far away from afflictions of the mind is Para Vairagya; this state allows one to become Siddha in Samadhi.

paths of yoga

To Attain Samadhi, of the five states of the mind ( Ignorance, Dullness, Agitated, Fixed and Annihilated ),only the fixed and annihilated states are considered as useful. Ignorance and dullness create a state of fluctuations in the mind, making one caught up in external subjects.

And so these states are useless for Samadhi. In the agitated state, the mind or consciousness gets drawn into the inner mind and become fixed but then gets continuously drawn in to its agitations; and therefore an obstacle to become established in Samadhi, and for this reason is considered as un useful.

With the strength of Abhyaas and can draw the mind inwards from any kind of external mental thoughts, and allow the mind or consciousness to enter the state of Sampragyaat Samadhi. In

Sampragyaat Samadhi, the Rajasic and Tamasic modes of behaviour of citta are destroyed, allowing just the illuminated Sattvic mind for shine forth. InIgnorance, Instability, Anger, Hatred and Destruction, the five afflictions are destroyed, allowing one to become free from the bounds of Karmas.

Vitarca vikara ananda asmitarupa anugamat sampnatah


When the Mind remains in self-analysis, insights, bliss and consciousness of the pure self, then one is experiencing the state of Sampragyaat Samadhi, which is gained through Apar Vairagya.

When the Practitioner continues his sadhana in Sampragyaat Samadhi, his citta and its forms move from that one fixed level or sphere and go beyond the five obstructed levels. His Consciousness comes in to s seedless form – mindless, the state where there is no beginning and no end. This state is called Asampragyaat Samadhi, also known as the seedless or Obstructionless Samadhi.

In this state, the Practitioner is able to check and restrain between merits ( gunh ) and demerits ( vrittiyon ) and becomes true to his own pure form i.e Tadaa Drishtu Swarupesvasthanam,meaning in the language of yoga, ‘then the seer dwells in his own splendour’. And thus, with the discipline of practice (abhyaas) and detachment (vairagya) we are able to shine forth in our own true pure light.