What is the Primary Series in Ashtanga Yoga?

One of the most popular and challenging yoga styles is Ashtanga Yoga. What makes Ashtanga Yoga so demanding is that it requires practitioners to flow from one pose to the next with little or no break in between. The Primary Series in Ashtanga Yoga is the first of eight series and is a significant part of the practice. It consists of six poses that help open up the body and prepare it for the more vigorous poses that will follow.

Primary Series in Ashtanga Yoga

The Primary Series in Ashtanga Yoga: A Detailed Description

The Primary Series in Ashtanga Yoga is the first of eight series of poses that comprise Ashtanga Yoga. It is also known as Surya Namaskar or Sun Salutation.

The sequence begins with the standing pose, Virabhadrasana I, and proceeds through Padmasana (Lotus Pose), Vrksasana (Tree Pose), and Kapotasana (Couch pose). Each posture in the Primary Series is held for a specific duration, with minimal movement.

The primary purpose of the Primary Series is to establish equilibrium between body and mind. By grounding yourself in each posture, you can begin to connect with your breath and focus on your innermost thoughts. Through repetition, you can build strength and flexibility in your entire body.

The Primary Series in Ashtanga Yoga: How to Do It

The Primary Series in Ashtanga Yoga is a sequence of eight poses designed to open the body and energize the mind. Each pose is performed for a specified duration with breath control before moving on to the next.

The Primary Series begins with Shavasana (Corpse Pose), in which you recline into ease with your feet flat on the floor. After resting for a few moments, rise up off the floor and place your palms flat on your mat.

From here, begin by pressing down into the heels of both feet, lifting your torso and upper legs into the air until your thighs are parallel to one another and your pelvis is lifted off the floor.

Hold this position for two to three minutes before lowering yourself back down to Shavasana.

While Shavasana is an excellent starting point for The Primary Series, it’s important to note that each pose in this sequence should be approached cautiously.

If you’re new to Ashtanga Yoga, start with simpler poses that don’t require as much strength and flexibility from your body. Once you’ve built up some foundation in these basics, move on to the Primary Series.

The Primary Series in Ashtanga Yoga: Benefits and Pitfalls

The Primary Series in Ashtanga Yoga is a sequence of eight poses that are the foundation of the practice. The poses provide a strong foundation for the rest of the practice and help to build balance,strength,and flexibility.

Though many people consider the Primary Series to be the most crucial part of Ashtanga Yoga, some things should be kept in mind when doing them.

• First, make sure to take your time with each pose and do them correctly for the best results.
• Second, be aware of your body and how it reacts in each pose.
• Third, always work towards maintaining good posture throughout the series.
• Fourth, be mindful of your breath and use it to focus and relax in each pose.
• Fifth, be patient – getting good at these poses can take some time.
• Sixth, never forget why you are practicing yoga: to connect with your own body and clear away blocks on your journey towards true yoga injury- free bliss!

The Primary Series in Ashtanga Yoga: Preparation Tips

The Primary Series in Ashtanga Yoga is the first series of eight postures that form the foundation of Ashtanga Yoga. The Primary Series is an introductory sequence for more advanced asanas and is designed to improve your flexibility, breathing, and concentration.

If you are new to Ashtanga Yoga, starting with the Primary Series is important. Begin by doing uthrasana (bridge pose), utthitraka (downward-facing dog), matsyasana (cat/cow), uttanasana (advanced forward fold), and padmasana (lotus pose) on a daily basis. Once you are comfortable with these poses, proceed to do vinyasa flow in between each posture:

• Utthita Trikonasana – Upward-facing triangle pose
• Garuda Paschimottanasana – Forward-bending lunge
• Pretzel-pose variation – Ardha Chandrasana with arms extended overhead
• Paschimottanasana – Forward bend

Is Ashtanga primary series for beginners?

The Ashtanga Primary Series is the first stage of the Ashtanga Yoga sequence. It’s designed for beginners and covers the basics of asana, breathing and meditation. If you’re new to yoga or want a shorter sequence to start with, the Primary Series is a great option.

However, if you’re experienced with yoga and want to explore more advanced practices, the Ashtanga Yoga Intermediate Series is a better choice. It covers more challenging poses and concepts and is recommended for those who have some experience with asana and meditation.

How long does it take to learn the Ashtanga yoga primary series?

The first step is to learn the Primary Series to learn Ashtanga yoga. This series consists of eight postures that build upon each other. It typically takes about nine weeks to complete, though this varies depending on your level of practice.

After you have learned the Primary Series, you can begin learning the intermediate series. This series consists of 12 postures and builds upon the foundations of the Primary Series. It typically takes about 16 weeks to complete, but this varies depending on your level of practice.


Bhavika Panesar

bhavika panesar author for fit chapter